Homemade Hummus Spread with Balsamic Vinegar

by sweetlifedaily

Necessity is the mother of invention, they say. And I just HAD to make hummus one day. But oops! i forgot the tahini! Instead walking to the nearest market a city block away, I decided to experiment. What ensued was a delectable surprise. This simple recipe is supposed to be hummus but the replacement of tahini with balsamic vinegar probably strips it of that name. Nevertheless, it works beautifully as a healthy spread, or dip and has more of a kick. My fifteen-month-old gourmand approves, too.

The Perfect Combo

The Perfect Combo

Now, a word of caution. When I make things like this, experiments or not, I don’t mess around, quantity-wise. This batch makes about five 10oz jars, so just over 3Lbs of hummus. Please adjust the portions to scale down. Also, you can, of course, use canned garbanzo beans. I buy mine in bulk from a local coop, then soak them overnight.

Ingredients:

6 cups soaked and cooked organic chickpeas (garbanzo beans)

8 garlic cloves (adjust, according to taste)

1 tsp salt

~ 1 cup of olive oil

~ 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar (I used organic Vinegar of Modena)

Juice from 1 lemon or two limes

Blend everything in a food processor and there is hummus galore!

DSC02570

Coming Along

Coming Along

My Good and Faithful Braun Gets the Job Done

My Good and Faithful Braun Gets the Job Done

Scoop into glass jars and share. ;)

This Will Last a Couple of Days ;)

Ready for Export ;)

It tastes great on bread (homemade, especially!) with slices of tomato. Enjoy!

