Homemade Kale Pesto

by sweetlifedaily

Kale… it’s trending second, after coconut oil (I kid…) I’m not a big fan of it in its bare, natural state. But if I dress it up and pulse it in the food processor, it’s another story.

IMG_1770

Pesto with Homemade Bread

Pesto with Homemade Bread

I’m all of a sudden in love with kale and this pesto goes on everything: I spread it on freshly baked bread, mix it in with pasta or rice.

DSC01559

Kale Pesto with Pasta

Here is a recipe that will take all of 20 minutes or so with washing, prepping, processing and tasting.

The short list of ingredients:

– 1 bunch kale – about 8 cups (washed, dried, de-stemmed)

– 5 cloves garlic

– 1/2 cup olive oil

– 1/2 cup parmesan cheese

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 1/4 sunflower seeds

Mix all ingredients in the food processor and fresh kale pesto is ready! If the consistency is not too spreadable, add more oil.

DSC01358

I usually double the ingredients and end up with about five  6oz jars. And that’s how I love my neighbors ;)

