Some Bread is Better Broken

by sweetlifedaily

It’s a good life when there’s homemade bread. And red wine, of course. The two are inseparable, in my opinion. That’s my communion.

Better Broken

Better Broken

I bake. But let’s just say it doesn’t come with ease. Still, one day bread cravings got the best of me me and I decided to try my luck at making it from scratch. During my search for a recipe without a bread machine I stumbled upon an easy to follow, funny Food Wishes’ Video  for a no-knead ciabatta. Amaaaazing stuff. I tried a number of other recipes, but this is by far the easiest, least labor intensive, quickest, (as far as clean up goes) and delicious bread I have made. The Food Wishes’ Recipe is as follows:

4 cups bread flour
1/4 tsp yeast
2 cups water
1 1/2 tsp salt

You will need 18 + 2 hours, though, to let the dough rise. Still, the process is a piece of cake. Tonight at 8pm I doubled the ingredients (the bread doesn’t last more than a day because it gets devoured!), mixed them and cleaned up in just over five minutes. Tomorrow, at 2pm (18 hours later) I will transfer the dough into baking pans, coated with butter or oil, and let it rise two more hours, under a clean towel. Later, at 4pm (2 hours later) I will preheat the oven to 425 degrees F and bake the bread for 35-45 minutes. After letting it cool, this perfection will be ready to be dipped in olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and homemade hummus.

Doubled Recipe

Doubled Recipe

Freshly Cut

Freshly Cut

Let me count the reasons I love this bread (thank you, Chef John!):

-homemade from scratch

-easy to make

-quick (10 minutes of prep and clean up, not counting the hours the dough just sits there, making itself ;)

-economical (the jar of yeast will last you… forever, at the rate of using only 1/4 tsp per batch, rather than the 2 1/2 that most recipes call for)

-delicious and oh, so breakable…

DSC02618

Enjoy!

